Corrig race report - by Douglas Barry

Memories of last year's event in which ghostly peat smeared creatures staggered across the finish line were revived when Patrick Temple arrived at the head of the junior Corrig short course event with legs covered in large deposits of best Dublin peat. Behind him flitted similar bedaubed juniors who could have fuelled a peat powered power station with the scrapings off their post race legs and arms. Karen Guthrie led in the girl's field, all of whom seemed to have tobogganed down the final peaty slope

The main race saw Sugarloaf winner Aengus O'Cleirigh power off with former Leinster League champion Gerry McGrath. Three Rock Dash winner Noel Berkeley was slightly adrift in third. Berkeley got what he described as the "hunger knock" on the climb and said that he had no energy. "I was so busy today, I didn't get to eat! I just couldn't go with the lads" O'Cleirigh reached the summit of the first mountain Seahan first and was still ahead of Berkeley as they turned at the mid point at Corrig.

On the heather ridge back to Seahan, a revived Berkeley moved ahead, content to let Aengus track him. However, as they descended down the peat slicked gully through the trees, Noel found he had made the wrong shoe choice, went over on his ankle briefly, and had to watch the bestudded Aengus hurtle past him on the limit of adhesion. Pulling himself together, he powered after O'Cleirigh on the flat 400 metre run in, but left himself with too much to do. A delighted Gus O'Cleirigh took the scalp of the national 10,000 track champ with Gerry McGrath third.

Gus said later "Noel should have won. He had me easily on the climb back up Seahan, and I was surprised he didn't push harder to get away" The winner just missed Paul Nolan's record by one second, but women's race winner Una May removed over a minute from Joan Flanagan's year old record. Una had a comfortable 2 minute margin over Laura McGinley with Roisin McDonnell right behind in third. A notable performance came from Calvin Torrans who took nearly 4 minutes off the Supervet (over 50) record and finished second vet overall.

		Wed 26/05/99	Dry/V. slippery	
Pos	Num	Name	Club/Firm	Cat Time
1	239	Aenghus O'Cléirigh	DSD	20.55
2	169	Noel Berkeley	DSD	20.57
3	272	Ger McGrath	DSD	22.08
4	142	Hugh McLindon	3ROC	22.47
5	261	Alan Cox	Crusaders	24.15
6	282	Ian O'Neill	North Belfast	24.16
7	101	Simon Walters	AIB	24.19

Corrig - Leinster League 4 of 13

8	286	Michael Walters	Ajax		24.37	
9	105	Declan Doyle	I Yux		24.39	
10	218	Finbarr Desmond			24.47	
11	157	Gerry Lalor			25.00	
12	278	Paul Mahon			25.59	
12	278	John McDonnell	DSD		26.06	
13	208 190	Douglas Corrie	Fingal	MV	26.12	
14	130	Peter Owens	DALRIADA	IVI V	26.23	
15	132 245	Paul Cullen	DALKIADA		26.23	
10	243 224		Crusaders		26.39	
17	115	Patrick Casey Calvin Torrans	Clusadels	MOM		Rec
18	151	Claude McManmon			27.48	Rec
20	161	Vivian O'Gorman		MV	27.54	
20	231	Úna May	Crusaders	F	27.54	Rec
22	136	Colin Burns	Ajax	1	28.06	nee
22	122	Joe Lalor	GEN	MV	28.24	
23 24	170	Gerry O'Doherty	AIB	101 0	28.30	
2 4 25	134	Thomas Galvin	Glenasmole		28.30	
25 26	119	Justin Keatinge	Ajax		28.32	
20 27	106	Philip Brennan	Setanta O.C		28.42	
21	100	I mip Dieman			20.49	
28	120	Brian Bell	Bray Head Ridge Runners	MV	28.55	
29	276	Cormac MacDonnchadha	Ajax/ESB		28.58	
30	233	Nigel Creighton			29.08	
31	109	Dermot Bates	AIB		29.16	
32	207	Gearóid Ó'Cathaláin	NTMA	MV	29.37	
33	220	Pat Fitzpatrick	AIB		29.48	
34	271	Laura McGinley	Raheny	F	29.53	
35	133	Roisin McDonnell	Crusaders	F	30.10	
36	179	Padraic Hamrock	AIB		30.36	
37	284	Roly Spiller	St. Columbas	M16	30.48	
38	262	Paul Keogh			30.51	
39	242	Sean R Murphy	Setanta		31.09	
40	283	Fiona O'Sullivan	Crusaders	F	31.10	
41	279	Kevin Murray		MV	31.34	
42	183	Caimin Moloney			31.42	

43	141	Peter Gargan	Ajax	MV	32.17	
44	204	Billy Alexander	AIB		32.36	
45	192	Brian Byrne		MSV	32.42	
46	229	John Fitzgerald		MV	32.45	
47	240	Ray Linn		MV	32.53	
48	123	Joe McDonagh	AIB		32.56	
49	287	Rory McKenna		MJ	33.16	
50	147	Eithne Mc Shane		F	33.19	
51	156	Nina Philips	crusaders	F	33.24	
52	273	Eileen Walsh	Donore Harriers	F	33.44	
53	124	Richard Flynn	SET	MSV	34.03	
54	203	Marian Hughes	DSD	FV	34.06	
55	114	Paddy Lord		MSV	36.34	
56	103	Gordon Douglas		MV	37.12	
57	199	Edward Hughes		MSV	37.38	
58	196	Sean Lambe		MSV	38.19	
59	138	Aine Donovan	Crusaders	F	39.01	
60	143	James Higgins	AIB		39.21	
61	280	Caitlin Bent			39.31	
62	177	Ger Power	3ROC	FV	39.50	
63	110	Vera Quinlan		F	40.32	
64	281	Melanie Walsh		F	42.33	
65	180	Anne Davitt	Bank of Ire.	F	42.35	
66	289	Mark Gomm			51.37	Late Start
		Short Course				
1	260	Patrick Temple	St Columbas	M16	8.48	
2	205	Kieran Cleere	Blackrock A.C.	M16	10.32	
3	201	Declan Lee	Blackrock A.C.	M16	12.19	
4	277	Karen Guthrie	Firhouse A.C.	FJ	12.52	
5	259	Katie Moore	St Columbas	F16	13.00	
6	258	Lydia Moore	St. Columbas	F16	13.57	
7	257	Amanda Pierpoint	St. Columbas/Crusaders	F16	15.49	
8	191	Jenny Corrie	Fingal	F14	16.30	
9	285	Naomi Davis	Fin	F14	17.06	
10	241	Catherine Woods		F14	19.31	

Marking: Vivian O'Gorman